Gallery

NY Comic Con ’14: Day One Overview

I was so excited to attend the 2014 NY Comic Con.  It’s the third year in a row that I’ve attended this awesome convention.  The first thing I did when I got in was head over to the Batman costume display commemorating the 75th anniversary of Batman.  They had Batman costumes from 1989’s Batman (Michael Keaton), 1995’s Batman Forever (Val Kilmer), 1997’s Batman and Robin (George Clooney), 2012’s The Dark Knight Rises (Christian Bale), and even the cape and cowl from 2016’s Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice (Ben Affleck).  There was also a Batman statue on display (the memorial one from 2012’s The Dark Knight Rises).

I then made my way onto the show floor, where I first headed to the Lightning Bottleneck booth to acquire their new limited edition Nightbreed poster.  Once I bought that, I headed over to the Con Quest Adventure Journal booth to pick up my Con Quest journal (my prize for selecting the NY Comic Con pledge for their Kickstarter campaign this past summer).  There, I also bought a Starfleet insignia pin as well as an exclusive NYCC pin.  At another booth, I bought a bust of Spock, a miniature U.S.S. Enterprise, and a couple of Star Trek buttons.  At the Throbbing Temple booth, I purchased the Rocky Horror Saved My Life button that I had failed to acquire last year.  Along the way, I took some pictures (including cosplay ones).  I then made my way to the Young Ones panel in Room 1A06.

After the Young Ones panel, I went back to the show floor.  I went to the Running Press booth to get my Rocky Horror Treasury book signed by Sal Piro (the president of The Rocky Horror Picture Show Fan Club) and Larry Viezel.  I also bought a miniature light-up U.S.S. Enterprise from that same booth.  I took some more pictures before making my way to the Voltron 30th anniversary panel in Room 1A21.  Once I got in, I received a Voltron 30th anniversary button.  We were shown some clips showing how Voltron has made its way into pop culture (clips from Conan, The Mentalist, Robot Chicken, etc. were shown).  The panelists included Clare Grant (a Voltron superfan and Seth Green’s wife).  A new Voltron book was being promoted (Voltron: From Days Long Ago: A Thirtieth Anniversary Celebration).  The panelists shared what their involvement with Voltron was and what their favorite Voltron memories were.

After the Voltron panel, I checked out the autographing area.  I had wanted to get Kevin Conroy’s autograph, but his line was too long.  I then noticed that the lines for some of the cast from Star Trek: The Next Generation were short.  After a long time deciding, I finally chose to get on Michael Dorn’s line.  I got to meet him, spoke to him briefly about his character (Worf from Star Trek: The Next Generation and Star Trek: Deep Space Nine) and how he was one of my favorites.  I then got his autograph and shook his hand.  I returned to the show floor to take some more pictures and look around.  Then I went to get on the line for the Birdman panel at the Empire Stage 1-E (I ended up standing in line for at least an hour-and-a-half before finally making it inside).

Moderator Chris Hardwick (left), Edward Norton (center), and Michael Keaton (right) at the “Birdman” panel.

I enjoyed the Birdman panel very much, and afterward went to the back to pick up an exclusive Birdman poster.  Then I went back towards the front to get a closer seat for the very next panel in there, the Justice League: Throne of Atlantis panel).  Afterward, I returned to the Batman costume display to get some better pictures of them (ones without the glare of sunlight since it was after 8 p.m. by this point).  That was my Friday at this year’s NY Comic Con.

Smaug himself at the Weta booth!

R2-D2 himself appeared at the NY Comic Con!

 

Leave a comment