Gallery

NY Comic Con ’16: Day Four Overview

NY Comic Con

I decided not to come in super early for my final day at NY Comic Con; I instead aimed for an 11:30am arrival.  I ended up arriving at the Javits Center at dscn526311:45am; I was more upset that I had to take out my umbrella due to the rain than with the slightly late arrival (luckily, it wasn’t a hard rain).  Once I was in, I made my way to the Plymptoons booth on the show floor and got to meet Oscar-nominated animator Bill Plympton.  I bought one of his books (Sloppy Seconds), dscn5266got it autographed (he even drew a quick picture inside it), and I got my picture taken with him.  I then tried to stop by some of the booths that featured the professional cosplayers I had met over the last few days.  I first went to Artist Alley to say hi and farewell to cosplayer Ireland Reid (I’m one of her NYC patreons).  I went outside afterward to check out the South Park selfie area (a commemoration for South Park’s 20th anniversary).  I took some pictures as well as got my picture taken with several different backdrops and characters.

dscn5276

I then checked out the cabin from Ash vs. Evil Dead again (at this point they were handing out coozies and foam chainsaws, but no T-shirts).  I went back to dscn5337the show floor afterward.  I stopped by the Stan Lee Collectibles booth to meet cosplayer Ivy Doomkitty (it had been a few years since I last saw her).  I bought three prints from her: Magneto (from X-Men), Freddy Krueger (from A Nightmare On Elm Street), and dscn5340Vampirella.  She autographed them and I was able to get my picture taken with her.  I stopped by a Star Wars collectibles booth soon after and got my picture taken with a life-sized BB-8 from Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  At a phone charging or gaming station (I forget who the official sponsor was), I took some pictures of the official costumes for Deadshot and Harley Quinn from this past summer’s extremely disappointing Suicide Squad that were on display.

dscn5347

I finally got to see cosplayer Meg Turney again and got another picture taken with her.  Nearby was cosplayer Nadya Sonika, so I wandered over to her booth.  I bought three autographed prints from her: Mystique (from the X-Men films), Misty (from Pokemon), and Pool Party Miss Fortune (not sure if she’s a video dscn5349game character or not).  I got my picture taken with her and had a brief conversation with her (she was really nice).  I went over to a Hot Flips table afterward to buy three 11″x17″ protective sleeves.  I then went to see cosplayer Sofia Sivan again and got a picture taken with her (she was dressed as the Enchantress, the Marvel one that is) as well as Kristen Hughey.  At the In Your Dreams Collectibles booth, I bought a Pop vinyl Alien Queen figure from Aliens and received two free comics (one was Red Sonja and the other an Aliens/Vampirella crossover).  I wandered around the show floor a little more before heading down to the Main Stage queuing hall.

dscn5339

I went mainly to get some water to drink, but I became curious to see if the Main Stage Sleepy Hollow panel was still open.  To my surprise, it actually was.  After confirming with a crew member, I immediately went to get on line for it and got dscn5359my badge tapped.  Once we were let in, I managed to get a good seat in the second row (somewhere between the actual location of the panelists’ table and the screen on the right side of the room).  Once the panel started, five minutes of footage from Season Four were shown (it looked really good).  The panelists included executive producers Len Wiseman, Albert Kim, and Raven Metzner, and stars Tom Mison, Lyndie Greenwood, Jeremy Davies, and Janina Gavankar (Evangeline Lilly, Davies’ castmate from Lost, crashed the panel briefly to say hi and farewell to him).  dscn5370Among the spoiler-free topics discussed were the new direction Season Four was going in, the state of mind of the cast members that have survived so far, and the new sets.  Mison remarked that when he saw the set for the new vault, it was only half complete but he didn’t know it was still being worked on (he had remarked to himself, “Budget cuts,” which got a big laugh).  The panelists wouldn’t divulge any secrets or surprises, although the footage shown did confirm the return of the Headless Horseman and John Noble as Henry Parish.

dscn5311

Once the panel concluded (it was the last Main Stage panel for the day), everyone started to head out.  I stuck around the main areas by the entrance and dscn5330exit doors to take cosplay pics (both inside and outside).  Once 6pm had come, it was time for me to say farewell.  I can’t believe I’ve attended NY Comic Con for the last five years in a row, and I hope I get to continue to attend for many more years.  I may even also one day consider attending the San Diego Comic Con (or another con in the American Northeast at least).  I had a great time, and I’m very much looking forward to what the 2017 NY Comic Con has in store for everyone!

dscn5351dscn5353

Leave a comment