Gallery

Philadelphia Museum of Art

My visit to Philadelphia this week was amazing.  I saw a lot more than I thought I would.  The best spot for me was the Philadelphia Museum of Art.  The paintings, artifacts, and sculptures were just phenomenal to see.  My favorite piece of art was “Alpine Village” by Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, a printer. It’s a German expressionist piece, which reminded me so much of the early German Expressionist films of the 1910s and 1920s.  The Great Stairs, one of the first things you’d see when entering the museum from the east entrance, are so grandiose I almost thought I’d see a king walk down the steps. They also reminded me of the stairs from 2002’s Star Trek: Nemesis (the scene where Shinzon first introduces himself to Captain Picard and his crew aboard the Reman warbird Scimitar) and 2009’s Watchmen (the steps in Ozymandias’ Arctic pyramid).  And to top that off, I think I even found out what happened to that giant dildo from 1971’s A Clockwork Orange (not really, but what I found was pretty eerie, isn’t it?). The icing on the cake, finally, is a statue of a little-known movie character named Rocky Balboa.  He appeared in six movies that some might have heard of.  Those movies are referred to as the Rocky franchise.

Leave a comment