Gallery

50 Years of Star Trek: Star Trek: Mission New York Day Two Overview

After a wonderful first day at Star Trek: Mission New York, I eagerly awaited day two.  I got to the Javits Center at almost 10am to find a huge line to get in.  Once I finally got in, I went to the show floor in the North Hall.  I went to the Star Trek Timelines booth, where John De Lancie (Q from Star Trek: The Next Generation) was signing Star Trek Timelines cards for free.  I got on the line and just managed to get a free autograph and picture with him in time (he was scheduled until 10:30am).  I looked around the show floor for a bit afterward. I checked out the Smithsonian booth and the 3D printer that was there making plastic phasers (toy ones, not functioning ones).  When I saw the Star Trek Online booth, I noticed that Denise Crosby (Tasha Yar from Star Trek: The Next Generation) was signing free autographs, so I got on line for one.  She was really nice and even posed for picture with me.  I even got to ask her if there were any more Trekkies documentaries in the works (she said yes and hopefully there’ll be a new one in a couple of years).

I headed over to the Main Stage for the Growing Up Trek panel (I was 20 minutes late).  Panelists Adam Nimoy, Julie Nimoy, and Rod Roddenberry shared stories about their famous fathers (Leonard Nimoy, Gene Roddenberry) and what it was like growing up with them.  Roddenberry also brought up his mother (Majel Barrett), who he said doesn’t get brought up enough.  They also spoke about the documentaries they’ve worked on/are currently working on.  After the panel, I stayed for the Star Trek: The Next Generation reunion panel.  Panelists LeVar Burton, Michael Dorn, Jonathan Frakes, Gates McFadden, and Marina Sirtis shared stories about their favorite directions on set, the differences on set between The Next Generation and Deep Space Nine, internet memes based on The Next Generation (such as face palm and epic fail), and hilarious NY stories.  During the Q&A, Burton gave an update on Reading Rainbow, and there was even a wedding proposal, which ended after a long moment with an embarassed no (talk about an epic fail).

After that panel, I stayed for the Star Trek Hollywood panel.  Panelists Bruce Greenwood and Peter Weller spoke about their involvement with the newer films, and some of their past films were even brought up and discussed (including Meek’s Cutoff and Exotica for Greenwood and RoboCop and Naked Lunch for Weller).  When asked about Star Trek Beyond, Greenwood said he had recently seen and liked it, but felt it was missing a character (which drew laughter).  Weller quickly chimed in and said it was missing two characters (which drew laughter and applause).  After that panel, I left the Main Stage and went to the autographing area.  It was so hard to choose who to get autographs from.  I first decided on DSCN4701Walter Koenig, the only member from the original Star Trek series at the convention on Saturday.  After a 20-something minute wait, I finally met one of Star Trek’s living legends (the original Pavel Chekov) and got to chat with him for a little bit.  After I got his autograph, I went to meet Robin Curtis, who took over as Saavik for Star Trek III: The Search For Spock and Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home.  I had a wonderful chat with her (she even showed me a telegram she had received from producer Harve Bennett in March 1986, in which he wished her good luck with the shoot).

After getting her autograph, I went to meet my very first celeb crush, Marina Sirtis (Deanna Troi from Star Trek: The Next Generation).  After a quick chat, I got an autograph from her and then pondered who to go to next (I wanted to get an autograph from at least one person from every series).  I next went to meet Robert Picardo (the Emergency Medical Hologram from Star Trek: Voyager).  We had a nice chat about Star Trek and his collaborations with Joe Dante.  After I got his autograph, I then went to meet Nana Visitor (Kira Nerys from Star Trek: Deep Space Nine.  I told her that Kira should’ve gotten a spinoff series when Deep Space Nine ended, which she really loved to hear.  I also asked about The Spirit (a TV movie adaptation of Will Eisner’s comic book character that was supposed to serve as a backdoor pilot).  She shared that the TV executives who had greenlit the TV movie had been fired around the time that it was being completed, and that the new executives axed the TV show before the movie even aired (she also mentioned her brief reunion with Sam Jones, who had played the Spirit, when they both showed up for the table read for Seth MacFarlane’s Ted 2).

After I got her autograph, I returned to the show floor.  I bought a few items there, including two sets of bronze Micro Machines Star Trek starships and a Klingon pin at the Away Mission booth, a framed Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country collectible film cell at the Best Yet Collectibles booth, and a Balance of Terror original series episode poster from the Heroes In Action booth.  I also tried out the Star Trek Online game at the Star Trek Online booth.  I was very bad at it (I have extremely little experience with video games), but I did get a free T-shirt.  Day Two came to a close; it was such a wonderful and surreal day.

One response to “50 Years of Star Trek: Star Trek: Mission New York Day Two Overview

  1. Wow! Some great panels and guests!

    Also: A 3-D printer making plastic phasers?! That is too cool for school.

Leave a Reply

