Gallery

Happy 4th Birthday To ‘The Cinematic Frontier’

From WordPress: “Happy Anniversary! You registered on WordPress.com 4 years ago! Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging!”

My little blog, The Cinematic Frontier, turned 4 two days ago (also the same day my review for Joan of Arc, my second entry in The Wonderful World of Cinema‘s 2nd Wonderful Ingrid Bergman Blogathon, was posted).  I’m thankful for the amount of followers I gained in the last year (55, putting me at a total of 330 and counting).  I’ve made efforts in the last year to interact more with the blogging community, and I’d like to thank everyone who’s allowed me to participate in the 27 blogathons (not including one of my own) I’ve contributed to in the last 12 months (please check out my blogathons page for the long, complete list).

What’s coming up for me?  Well, I’ve got a number of movie reviews in the works, including five new horror movie reviews in October (an 85th anniversary review for James Whale’s Frankenstein, a 40th anniversary review for Richard Donner’s The Omen, a 35th anniversary review for Joe Dante’s The Howling, a 30th anniversary review for Stuart Gordon’s From Beyond, and a 20th anniversary review for Peter Jackson’s The Frighteners are confirmed).  I will also be posting five new Christmas movie reviews in December (just as I did last December).  I’ll be contributing to three upcoming blogathons (including another one of my own; check it out here).  I’ll be attending the Star Trek: Mission New York convention this coming weekend as well as NY Comic Con next month for the fifth year in a row (my coverage for both will be posted).

I do have one last major announcement: after some reflection, I’ve decided to take a hiatus from the Cinematic Frontier starting in January.  While working on this blog has been a joy, I’ve allowed it to take up a lot of my free time (perhaps too much), and I feel I need to devote that time to other areas I’m working on in my life (financial reasons have also played a part in my decision as my blog is not a source of income for me at all).  I will honor my commitments to the remaining blogathons I’ve already committed to as well as try to complete the posts I’ve already started to work on (I’ve even decided to cancel a new blogathon that I was originally going to announce yesterday).  My decision doesn’t mean the very end of the Cinematic Frontier; I’ll post something once in a while but nowhere near the frequency that I’m doing now.  Some of you may have already noticed that I silently ended my Blu-ray Tuesdays installments.  Once again, I would like to thank to everyone who’s helped make The Cinematic Frontier a success (I truly appreciate all the retweets and mentions on Twitter) and hope you’ve all enjoyed reading my posts.

DSCN1501                             DSCN1506DSCN1497DSCN1466DSCN1739            DSCN1898DSCN1914DSCN1911DSCN1990DSCN1994DSCN2011DSCN2044

11 responses to “Happy 4th Birthday To ‘The Cinematic Frontier’

  1. Drat. Sorry to see you’ll be blogging less.

    But Congrats on your 4th Blogaversary! Four years is quite an accomplishment, and it looks like you celebrated in style. 🙂

  2. Happy Belated Blog Birthday! I tend to get to your posts late, but I really enjoy them. Especially the weekly Blu-Ray threads. I can get that info from a lot of places, but I appreciate the way you present it.

    Of course I understand taking a break as I don’t blog hardly at all anymore, although I do podcast. Hopefully you’ll keep in touch with us somehow. Either way, enjoy the time off.

  3. Happy Anniversary, hope you enjoy the hiatus, we’ll miss you!

  4. Happy four years! I hope your blogging hiatus helps recharge your batteries 🙂

  5. Congrats, Louis. Sorry to hear about the hiatus, but that’s perfectly understandable. We’ll see you when we see, my friend. Best.

Leave a Reply

