15 responses to “Fantasia (1940)

  1. Oh, I wish I could see Fantasia on the big screen! It is a wonderful film, and completely different if you see as a child and as an adult. I can’t point my favorite number, but all the animation technique it required always mesmerizes me.
    Don’t forget to read my contribution to the blogathon! 🙂
    Cheers!
    Le

  2. Wow, I haven’t seen this movie in ages, but I agree The Sorcerer’s Apprentice is the most memorable part of the film. This is certainly one of Walt Disney’s most creative films. Thanks for the great review 🙂

  3. It’s a gorgeous film, the most truly adult in Disney’s canon.

  4. I first saw Fantasia at San Francisco’s Ghirardelli Theater when I was a teenager. A poor little kid sitting a few rows down kept saying, loudly, “When is the cartoon going to start?” He wasn’t happy until The Sorcerer’s Apprentice started. I liked the movie better than he did. I don’t remember his reaction to Night on Bald Mountain.

  5. Nice critique of a terrific film. I first saw it when I was 12 and have been fascinated by it ever since.

  6. Good review! My appreciation for this movie has grown through the years. A truly great film.

  7. I love Fantasia! For years I thought of Rite of Spring as “the dinosaur song” and Night on Bald Mountain still sends shivers down my spine (because of Chernabog), great post 🙂

  8. A mesmerizing, too be experienced animation classic, for sure.

Leave a Reply

