Gallery

NY Comic Con ’15: Day One

NY Comic Con

I was so excited to attend the 2015 NY Comic Con.  It’s the fourth year in a row that I’ve attended this awesome convention, and it’s the first time I would be attending all four days.  Due to having to work late the night before, I arrived late to the Jacob Javits Center (approx. just after 11am).  Since I missed the “88MPH: A Celebration of Back To the Future” panel, I made my way onto the show floor.  I received a free Jurassic World NY Comic Con button as I went in, and I made my way over to the Hero Complex Gallery booth to acquire a limited edition Tyler Stout-drawn Avengers: Age of Ultron poster that had sold out online two weeks before (they had announced on Twitter that they had a limited number of prints still available for the convention).  I waited in a line for just over two hours only to be told that the specific one that I wanted had just sold out (there were two people waiting in front of me when the announcement was made).  Not wanting to leave empty-handed, I bought a gorgeous Back To the Future poster that highlighted the Delorean as well as prints for Blade Runner and Batman (the 1989 Tim Burton version).

At the Marvel booth, I picked up a couple of free comics as well as a Jessica Jones mini-poster and a two-sided Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D./Agent Carter mini-poster.  At the Downward Viral booth, I recognized one of the cosplayers as Vegas PG (and I was happy to get my picture taken with her).  I visited the Weta Workshop (which had items from The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies and Chappie on display.  At the Funimation booth, I received a free mini-poster for Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection ‘F’ and a free coaster for the anime series Space Dandy.  At another booth, I bought a die-cast refit U.S.S. Enterprise from Star Trek: The Motion Picture and a die-cast Kevin Flynn lightcycle from Tron: Legacy (both from Hot Wheels).  At the Con Quest Adventure Journal booth, I picked up my Con Quest companion journal and NY Comic Con 2015 pin (which I had pre-ordered).  I was also pleasantly surprised that Shelley Harper, one of the co-creators, actually remembered me from last year.

The rest of my time for the day was split between taking pictures and getting autographs.  I received autographs from Jon Schnepp (director of the excellent DSCN1506documentary The Death of ‘Superman Lives’: What Happened?, who also gave me a free logo patch), WWE legend Mick Foley (who was there with his daughter Noelle and Mr. Socko), Ninja Turtle Michelangelo (I’m not kidding!), cosplayer Sarah Russi (who signed a print and was dressed as Leeloo from The Fifth Element), and author Nicoline Evans (who signed a copy of her book Evo: The Elements for me).  I also got pictures with each of them, and they were very cool.  The day came to an end, and I had to say good-bye (not without get some additional cosplay pics).  That was my Thursday at this year’s NY Comic Con.

DSCN1565

2 responses to “NY Comic Con ’15: Day One

  1. great pics, Louis! thanks for sharing them, man!

Leave a Reply

