Gallery

NY Comic Con ’14: Day Three Overview

NY Comic Con

My final day at this year’s NY Comic Con!  As soon as I got in, I went to get on the line for The Karate Kid 30th anniversary panel in Room 1A10.  After a 40-plus minute wait, they finally let us in with less than 10 minutes before the  scheduled start of the panel.  The panel ended up starting 20 minutes late due to William Zabka, Ralph Macchio, and Martin Kove being stuck in traffic.  Once the panel started, it was fun from beginning to end.  Afterward, I went to get on the line for Kevin Conroy’s autograph at Autograph Table 8.  While I was waiting, the line next to us for Jason David Frank (Tommy, the Green and White Rangers from the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers TV show) got crazy a few times (in a good way).  After waiting 1 1/2 hours, I finally got to meet Kevin Conroy, the voice of Batman from Batman: The Animated Series.  I told him about how I used to watch the show when I was a kid after school.  I even told him about the midnight screening of Batman: Mask of the Phantasm that I attended a few months back at the Landmark Sunshine Cinema (a screening he had actually heard about but could not attend).  I got an animated Batman 8″ x 10″ print autographed by him and got my picture taken with him as well.  Unfortunately, the security guy who took the picture took forever to do it despite the simple instruction I gave him, and it resulted in the disgusted look on my face in the picture (which sucks because I was so thrilled to meet Kevin Conroy).

Afterward, I went to the show floor to get Bret “The Hitman” Hart’s autograph over at the Neca Toys booth, but I got there too late as the line had already been cut off.  I walked around and took a few pictures, then headed over to Artist Ireland ReidAlley.  I saw Ireland Reid over at the Nerd Glam table again (she remembered me from the day before).  We spoke for a few minutes, then I bought one of her prints.  She was very happy to autograph it.  I then bought some print sleeves at the nearby Hot Flips table.  I walked around afterward and saw an Adam West Batman print that was 60% off.  The artist was Julien Hugonnard-Bert and he was glad to autograph the one I purchased from him.  After Artist Alley, I went over to the food court to sit down and relax.  After quite a while, I returned to the show floor.  I returned to the Con Quest Adventure Journal booth to buy two more journals.  After that, I walked around a little bit and accidentally stumbled upon the Painted Pin Ups booth.  Addie Hassel, who runs it, explained what the company was and talked about the calendars she was selling.  I decided to buy one, and Addie autographed her month (Ms. February 2015).  There were two other painted models (Laura Alexandra and Leyna Gentry).  Laura signed for her month as well (Ms. December 2014), and I was able to get my picture taken with Laura and Leyna.

After some more picture taking, I went to stand in line for the last panel, the Cary Elwes panel promoting his new book As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of The Princess Bride in Room 1A06.  The line was extremely long and I was unable to get in.  I walked around to take some more pictures, and then bid farewell to the 2014 NY Comic Con.  I had so much fun (despite all of the congestion), I actually made it to Sunday this year, I attended more panels than last year, and I got more autographs.  Next year, I am definitely getting the 4-day badge.  See you in 2015!

Veronica Taylor, best known for her voice work as Ash Ketchum from Pokémon and April O’Neil from the latest Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles animated series on Nickelodeon.

Jason David Frank, best known as Tommy the Green Ranger (and later the White Ranger) from the early years of the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers TV series. This man really loves his fans and has a lot of fun at these conventions. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

