Gallery

NY Comic Con ’14: Day Two Overview

NY Comic Con

It was a rainy day as I made my way to the Jacob Javits Center for my second day at the 2014 NY Comic Con.  As soon as I got in, I headed to the Empire Stage 1-E to get on line for The League panel.  I suffered a major setback when I turned my digital camera on while I was standing on line and it broke (I’ve had it for over five years).  That left me with having to use the camera on my cell phone (which isn’t good if I’m not sitting close to the front during a panel).

I was glad to make it in for The League panel.  An upcoming episode was screened, and the co-creators (Jeff and Jackie Schaffer) and the entire cast (Katie Aselton, Stephen Rannazzisi, Nick Kroll, Paul Scheer, Mark Duplass, Jonathan Lajoie, and Jason Mantzoukas) came out afterward.  A lot of jokes were cracked, they talked about their favorite episodes, and Janina Gavankar WP_000703(Shiva herself) even stopped by.  There was an audience Q&A as well (some audience members didn’t even ask questions; they just boasted about themselves when they got to the microphone).  My favorite response: When asked about what the Domination League actually does, Jason Mantzoukas replied, “We could tell you, but then we’d have to do it to you!”  After The League panel, I stayed in the Empire Stage 1-E for the Marvel Cup O’Joe panel, not so much because I wanted to see it but because the panel after that was the Batman 75th anniversary panel (which I really wanted to see).

I was glad to attend the Batman 75th anniversary panel.  Kevin Conroy was among the panelists and it was just an enjoyable experience.  After that panel, I went onto the show floor.  I took pictures on my cell phone (including cosplay ones).  I bought some trade paperbacks that were 50% off (Thor: The Dark World Prelude, Transformers Official Movie Adaptation, G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra Prequel, and G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra Official Movie Adaptation) at one of the comic book booths.  I managed to find Hacksaw Jim Duggan’s booth and spoke to him for a while before getting his autograph.  At the Midtown Comics booth, I took advantage of the 20% off sale and finally acquired the Planet Hulk graphic novel.

At another comic collectibles booth, I bought a small plastic Spawn figurine that was a promotional tie-in at the time the 1997 film came out.  I bought an I Sell the Dead blu-ray and The Innkeepers soundtrack CD at the Glass Eye Pix booth.  I went over to Artists Alley, where I bought two prints from a very gifted artist named Chrissie Zullo (one was a Studio Ghibli print and the other was a Labyrinth print).  I even donated $5 to her collection box for the Hero Initiative (when she thanked me, I told her about the link on my blog to the Hero Initiative).  I also encountered the Nerd Glam table and got my picture taken with one of the cosplay models (who I later learned wasn’t a Nerd Glam employee in cosplay but an actual cosplay model named Ireland Reid).  I took some more cosplay pics afterward before heading home.  That was my Saturday at this year’s NY Comic Con.

Me (right) and Ireland Reid (left) in front of the Nerd Glam table in Artists Alley.

Azog the Defiler at the Weta booth!

2 responses to “NY Comic Con ’14: Day Two Overview

  1. Looked like fun. I live only a half hour from NYC, hopefully next year I’ll get to go 🙂

Leave a Reply

