Gallery

NY Comic Con ’13: Day One Overview

After having a blast at last year’s NY Comic Con, I was very much looking forward to this year’s convention.  I bought my three-day pass as soon as it went on sale and eagerly awaited its arrival in the mail.  Friday October 11th finally came, and I was off to the Jacob Javits Center.  Unlike last year, I actually went in costume as Bane from 2012’s The Dark Knight Rises.

The first thing I saw inside was a Superman costume gallery celebrating the 75th anniversary of Superman.  The costumes on display included the regular Christopher Reeve Superman costume from 1978’s Superman, the dark Superman costume from 1983’s Superman III, the Brandon Routh Superman costume from 2006’s Superman Returns, both Henry Cavill Superman costumes (the regular one and the black dream sequence one) and a Clark Kent outfit from 2013’s Man of Steel, the Tom Welling “Blur” costume from TV’s Smallville, and the Dean Cain Superman costume from TV’s Lois and Clark: The New Adventures of Superman.  I grabbed some free DC Comics buttons and received a free Superman 75th anniversary cape.  I then proceeded onto the show floor and wandered around, picking up a few freebies, taking some pictures, and posing for some myself (maybe seven or eight).

Here’s me as Bane on Friday October 11th. The ugly bastard on the right is bad Milo. You won’t believe which body part he popped out of (Magnet Releasing’s Bad Milo, starring Ken Marino, is currently in limited release as well as available on demand).

At the Magnet Releasing booth, I bought the Hobo With A Shotgun blu-ray and got a free Bad Milo T-shirt.  At the Tartan booth, I picked up a couple of Oldboy temporary tattoos.  At the IFC Midnight booth, I bought the Room 237 blu-ray and picked up a free condom that was promoting the upcoming film Contracted.  At one of the booths selling older merchandise, I bought two die cast metal ships: the U.S.S. Enterprise-A and a Klingon Bird of Prey from Star Trek V: The Final Frontier (these were originally released in 1989).  At another booth, I bought a Thundercats logo patch.  At the end of the night, I stopped by the Full Moon Features booth and bought the blu-ray for 1991’s The Pit and the Pendulum.

The Robot Chicken panel featuring panelists Seth Green, Breckin Meyer, and none other than Macauley Culkin doing the sexy pose!

I attended three panels: the Child’s Play 25th anniversary panel, the Robot Chicken panel, and the Oldboy panel.  I almost didn’t make it to the Chucky panel, but I managed to get in there.  It was cool to see Brad Dourif in person and Jennifer Tilly looked as sexy as ever.  I stood in line for the Robot Chicken panel, but it was mainly so that I could get a good seat for the Oldboy panel.  The Robot Chicken panel was surprisingly fun; panelists included Seth Green, Breckin Meyer, and making a rare appearance Macaulay Culkin.  They brought up favorite moments and showed an animatic from a scene from the upcoming special that airs in the spring (all that I’ll reveal is that Nathan Fillion voices Green Lantern).  After that I moved up for the Oldboy panel, which made the film look very promising.  That was my Friday at this year’s NY Comic Con.

“Lola” from Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

DSCN9153

Sgt. Slaughter himself was there! He put all the maggots in their places.

One response to “NY Comic Con ’13: Day One Overview

  1. Pingback: 75 Years of Superman: Superman 75th Anniversary Animated Short | THE CINEMATIC FRONTIER

Leave a Reply

