Gallery

Happy Birthday To ‘The Cinematic Frontier’

From WordPress: “Happy Anniversary! You registered on WordPress.com 1 year ago! Thanks for flying with us. Keep up the good blogging!”

That’s right!  My little film blog, The Cinematic Frontier, turns 1 today.  It has certainly evolved quite a bit in the last twelve months, and I am thankful to all who’ve followed me (96 and counting) as well as enjoyed reading my posts.  A special thanks goes out to Zac at Yards of Grapevine, who invited me to contribute to the Oscar series Those Oscar Missed, which really exposed me to the blogging community.  I must also thank Tyson from Head In A Vice for allowing me to be a part of his Desert Island Films series and Andy of Rorschach Reviews for allowing me to contribute two reviews to his ongoing Martin Scorsese film review series (he’s already posted my review for The Last Temptation of Christ and hopefully my review for Hugo will be posted soon).  I was the recipient of the Dragon’s Loyalty Award courtesy of Natasha of Film and Things.  I was also the recipient of the Versatile Blogger Award courtesy of Michael of Parlor of Horror and Lindsey of the motion pictures.  I joined the LAMB earlier this year and was actually eligible for the LAMMYs (their awards).  Unfortunately, I was busy at my job during that time, and by the time I was ready to submit myself for consideration, I found out that I had missed the submission deadline by a week.  I’ll make sure I don’t miss the deadline next year, so watch out Fog’s Movie Reviews (this year’s big winner).  I also wrote about some of the places I’ve visited in the last year with a film theme (Philadelphia, Metropolis, and Atlanta).

So what’s ahead for the rest of the year?  Well, my final Star Trek film review will be posted a little later (for J.J. Abrams’ 2009 film Star Trek).  I’ll be continuing my ongoing series Blu-ray Tuesdays and Animation Corner, as well as posting movie reviews for newer and older films (I’ll try to add more silent, animated, and classic films).  In October, I’ll be doing a Video Nasty Edition review series where I’ll be posting reviews for 1972’s The Last House On the Left, 1981’s The Evil Dead, and 1981’s Posession (if I get to see 1980’s Cannibal Holocaust or 1982’s Tenebre on the big screen within the next seven weeks, I’ll post a review for them as well under this banner).  I’ll be attending this year’s NY Comic Con and posting my coverage of it, and I might do the same for the Eerie Horror Film Festival as well.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to complete my Judge Dredd critique ‘The Trial of Judge Dredd‘ (I still have parts 2 and 3 to type up from my notes).  A lot of the times it’s been hard for me to find time to read the posts of the blogs I follow, but I’ve managed to catch up and will try to make more of an effort to interact with my fellow bloggers (posting comments, signing up for more blogathons, etc.).  I might even start a blogathon, although I have no idea at this time what it would be about.  I’ve had over 13,600 views in Year One, and I’m looking to match or surpass that number in Year Two.  Once again, thanks to everyone who’ve helped make The Cinematic Frontier a success (I appreciate all the retweets and mentions on Twitter), and a special thanks to Zac once again for inspiring me to start this blog in the first place.

4 responses to “Happy Birthday To ‘The Cinematic Frontier’

  1. Congrats, Louis. You got a great blog going here.

Leave a Reply

