Those Oscar Missed: Best Documentary Feature

YARDS OF GRAPEVINE | Movies, TV, Oscars & S'more

http://screencrave.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/10/religulous08-10-03.jpg

CONTRIBUTED BY JAKE THOMPSON

Best Documentary Feature can be an excellent showcase for documentaries that should not be missed.  I admit that I don’t get to see as many as I would like to, but when I do get to see a documentary on the big screen, it’s always a rewarding experience.  Strangely, the docs I do get to see are rarely nominated for the Oscar (Werner Herzog’s Encounters At the End of the World and Charles H. Ferguson’s Inside Job are the only docs I’ve seen in the last five years that actually got nominated).  Even this past year (2012, a year in which I saw a personal record-breaking 11 documentary features), it turns out that I’ve only seen two of the shortlisted documentaries for the Oscar (Five Broken Cameras and Bully).  There have been some major snubs for this award in the past (and some of…

View original post 859 more words

Leave a Reply

