Gallery

A Pinewood Dialogue with Ang Lee: A Look Back

Nine-and-a-half years ago, the Museum of the Moving Image held a then-complete Ang Lee retrospective in honor of the upcoming release of his newest film, 2003’s Hulk.  I was unable to see all of the Ang Lee films I had wanted to see, but I did manage to catch 1994’s Eat Drink Man Woman, 1995’s Sense and Sensibility, 2000’s Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, and a members-only sneak preview screening of Hulk (which was terrific).  The screening for Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (which took place on June 7, 2003) was special because it was followed by a Q&A with Lee and long-time collaborator writer/producer James Schamus (who’s also the president and CEO of Focus Features).  I not only enjoyed the film, but I even got to meet Ang Lee after the Q&A and get my program signed by him since I was sitting in the front row and I was trapped in the middle of numerous foreign reporters once they rushed to the stage.  I even got to meet and speak briefly with James Schamus outside of the auditorium afterward.  They were both really cool.

In honor of today’s release of Ang Lee’s new film Life of Pi, I present the Pinewood Dialogue with Ang Lee and James Schamus (following a screening of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon) moderated by David Schwartz (chief film curator of the Museum of the Moving Image).  It can be heard or read here.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

The Pinewood Dialogues, an ongoing series of discussions with key creative figures in film, television, and digital media, are made possible with a generous grant from the Pannonia Foundation.

Leave a Reply

