Gallery

A Pinewood Dialogue with George A. Romero: A Look Back

About ten years ago, I first visited the Museum of the Moving Image, located in Astoria in Queens, NY.  I attended a screening of Martin Scorsese’s 1990 masterpiece Goodfellas (playing as part of a then-complete Martin Scorsese retrospective in honor of the release of Gangs of New York).  I had purchased a discounted ticket with my still-new college I.D. (it was my first semester in college).  After the screening, I took home one of the upcoming schedules for the museum.  As I read through it, I decided to purchase a membership to the museum because of the classic, foreign, and independent film screenings.  I felt this was important since I was a film student.

One of the reasons I rushed to purchase my membership was because there was going to be a George Romero retrospective in January 2003.  Romero himself was going to show up for a Q&A (officially called a Pinewood Dialogue) after a screening of 1968’s Night of the Living Dead, a film I really wanted to see on the big screen.  I went to the museum during Christmas vacation to purchase my membership, and as soon as it was purchased I immediately asked if I could purchase a ticket for the Pinewood Dialogue with George Romero (Pinewood Dialogues cost extra but there is a member discount).  Once I had my ticket, I eagerly awaited Saturday January 11, 2003.

In honor of Halloween, I present the Pinewood Dialogue with George Romero (following a screening of Night of the Living Dead) moderated by Giulia D’Agnolo Vallan (director of the Torino Film Festival).  It can be heard or read here.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

The Pinewood Dialogues, an ongoing series of discussions with key creative figures in film, television, and digital media, are made possible with a generous grant from the Pannonia Foundation.

Leave a Reply

